FSP Attended CAP 2019 in Orlando

The FSP attended the CAP 2019 Meeting in Orlando, Florida this past weekend and enjoyed a very informative and engaging meeting with pathologists from all over the country. The CAP House of Delegates Meeting on Saturday provided a comprehensive update from CAP with a leadership panel, roundtable on diversity and an advocacy update. In the afternoon, FSP President Dr. Morton Levitt participated in a panel discussion moderated by the CAP Speaker of the House of Delegates Kathryn T. Knight, MD, FCAP with other state pathology society Presidents on the challenges and success of state pathology societies. The key takeaway message from the panel discussion was the importance of being involved in your state pathology society and how an engaged and motivated leadership and membership can build a strong society. All delegates from the state of Florida were seated together during the House of Delegates meeting and many gathered together for a photo seen below.

For more on the CAP House of Delegates meeting, check the FSP website soon as a full report will be available provided by the Florida Delegation Chair, Dr. Marilyn Bui.

On Monday evening, the FSP hosted a reception where current and prospective new members were invited to attend. Reception attendees heard from Dr. Marilyn Bui and Dr. Jim Zhai on the many valuable membership benefits that FSP provides. Dr. Patrick Godbey, newly inaugurated President of CAP and an FSP member, discussed how he personally benefits from his membership in the FSP and how he would be working on behalf of the FSP to bring issues that impact the state of Florida to the Board of Governors during his Presidency.

The FSP was honored and delighted to participate in the CAP meeting and enjoyed seeing many familiar faces. We are proud of the strength of our society and continue to encourage our members to refer new members to our wonderful organization. Find out more about our Refer a Member Program and encourage your colleagues to be a part of their state pathology society!


Front (left to right): Meg Neal, MD, Patricia Gregg, MD, Marilyn Bui, MD, PhD, Antonio Martinez, MD, Janice McCall, MD. Back (left to right): Erin Corrales, Diane Davey, MD, Morton Levitt, MD, Emmanuel Agosto-Arroyo, MD, Harvey Feld, MD, Elizabeth Sagatys, MD , Evita Henderson Jackson, MD, Prudence Smith, MD, Lynh Nguyen, MD, Jeffrey Smith, MD, Kun Jiang, MD, Ana Medina, MD.


Publication Date: 
Thursday, September 26, 2019 - 12:00pm