FSP Welcomes New Leadership

JACKSONVILLE, Fla. — Qihui Jim Zhai, MD, FCAP officially assumed the role of Florida Society of Pathologists (FSP) President at the FSP’s annual business meeting that took place virtually on Sunday, February 14, 2021 in conjunction with the FSP’s 47th Annual Pathology Conference. He succeeds Morton H. Levitt, MD, MHA, FCAP, who will be the FSP’s Immediate Past President.  

Dr. Zhai is based in Jacksonville, Florida and is currently a professor of pathology and laboratory medicine and consultant pathologist at Mayo Clinic. He serves as the Director of the FISH Laboratory at Mayo Clinic. Dr. Zhai completed his residency at Mayo Clinic in Rochester, his fellowship at the University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center in Houston. Dr. Zhai was elected to the CAP Board of Governors in 2019 and is currently serving a three-year term. He is also an active member of the CAP’s Florida House of Delegates.

“It is my great privilege, and I am honored to serve as your next President of the Florida Society of Pathologists.” Zhai said during a speech at the FSP annual business meeting. “My goals for my two-year term are continuous and strong advocacy in order to represent the interests and the work value of pathologists, to provide excellent educational programs, and to resume and promote our social network.”

The FSP membership also approved the FSP Executive Officers for the 2021-2023 term including President-Elect Marilyn Bui, MD, PhD (Tampa, Fla.), Vice President Carmen Gomez-Fernandez, MD (Miami, Fla.), Treasurer Vatsal Patel, MD (Tallahassee, Fla.) and Secretary Oleksandr Kryvenko, MD (Miami, Fla.). The membership also approved several new at large members for the 2021-2023 term including Diane Davey, MD (Orlando, Fla.), Jesse Kresak, MD (Gainesville, Fla.), Stephen Nelson, MD (Highland City, Fla.), and Philip Robinson, MD (Boca Raton, Fla.). In addition to the newcomers, there were six at large board members that were approved for an additional two-year term including Khaled Algashaamy, MD (Miami, Fla.) as Resident Liaison, Brett Cantrell, MD (Jacksonville, Fla.), Lizardo Cerezo, MD (Orlando, Fla.), Margaret Neal, MD (Tallahassee, Fla.), Nicole Riddle, MD (Tampa, Fla.) and Jason Savell, MD (Tampa, Fla.).

To view the full list of the members of the FSP Board of Directors visit the website here.

Publication Date: 
Thursday, February 18, 2021 - 10:30am